Poetry for Everyone (ages 16+)

  • 2:00PM

Event Details

Roque Dalton, the Salvadoran poet and revolutionary, famously said: “I believe the world is beautiful and that poetry, like bread, is for everyone.”

Join Caroline Donnola for Poetry for Everyone, in an afternoon that will transform your relationship to poetry. Caroline is a fan of Dalton’s poetry and of his approach. Not only does she believe that poetry is for everyone, but she also thinks everyone can write poetry. Yet poetry is frequently thought of as a mysterious, elitist, untouchable medium for the special few. The dictionary describes it as “… language chosen and arranged to create a specific emotional response through meaning, sound, and rhythm.” Sometimes that’s exactly what it is. Sometimes it’s something else. Rather than define it, we will strive to appreciate it, play with it, and write it. All levels of experience are welcome! Join the workshop, Saturday, October 23 at 2:00p ET (1:00p CT/ 11:00a PT).

RSVP Here!

Where

Contact

Virtual Performance, virtualperformance@allstars.org

 

Help set the stage for a young person to grow.

Call us to get involved.

(212) 941-9400

Stay connected.

Sign up for our mailing list.