Activism and the Performance of Blackness (ages 16+)

  • Zoom •
  • 2:00PM

Event Details

June 19th is celebrated as Juneteenth, the anniversary of the ending of slavery in 1865. Join Harlem physician and political leader Dr. Jessie Fields for an inspirational, challenging and interactive offering: Activism and the Performance of Blackness.

You will hear from Fannie Lou Hamer, Lorraine Hansberry, Nina Simone, Dr. Lenora Fulani—Black Women Leading the Sounds of Solidarity. You will listen to the voices and read the words of these four powerful Black women and explore their various manifestations of performance activism.

Join the workshop, Saturday, June 19 at 2:00 PM ET (1:00 PM CT/ 11:00 AM PT).

RSVP Here!

Where

Zoom
Map it

Contact

virtualperformance@allstars.org

Help set the stage for a young person to grow.

Call us to get involved.

(212) 941-9400

Stay connected.

Sign up for our mailing list.